Saturday, September 18, 2021

Visa & Passport Requirements for Panama

North AmericaPanamaVisa & Passport Requirements for Panama

Countries whose citizens have a passport valid for at least 6 months at the time of entry do not require a visa for entry to Panama: (among others) Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Uruguay. For more information, please visit the website of the Embassy of Panama.

The law on tourist visas for entry into Panama. Executive Decree No. 248 states that “Those holding a passport valid for at least 3 months and a valid visa from ONE of the following countries: United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia or one of the member countries of the European Union, which has been used at least once to enter these countries, may enter the Republic of Panama by purchasing a tourist card, regardless of their nationality.”

Citizens of certain countries, including Australia, Canada, Japan and the United States, can enter with a tourist visa that is stamped on arrival (the cost is automatically included in the airfare and is valid for a stay of 180 days, as of August 2010). The cost of a visa stamp to enter Bocas del Toro is $13 (US) if arriving by air (as of May 2008). Entry requirements are proof of :

  • a return ticket from Panama City
  • 500 USD in cash or traveller’s cheques
  • Recommended yellow fever vaccination – only if you are coming from a country where yellow fever is present (including most countries in South America and Africa, but not the United States).

In practice, border officials may be lax in checking blameless travellers from the United States and other industrialised countries.

As your tourist visa will be stamped in your passport, it is also important to carry at least one photocopy of the ID page and the page with the tourist visa stamp.