The Basilica of the Holy Mother of God Eleusa, Nesebar, is a former monastic church located in the Bulgarian town of Nesebar, a UNESCO World Heritage site, and dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary.
On the northern side of the peninsula, the church was constructed in the sixth century. It was part of a monastic complex until the 14th century and is documented till that time. It is believed to have been destroyed by a natural disaster.
In 1920, excavations and studies started here, and the church is now well-preserved and partially rebuilt.
It has three naves, three apses, and a narthex, as well as two smaller apses on the north and south sides. It is 28 meters in length and 18 meters in width.
The Church of the Holy Saviour or Sveti Spas in the Bulgarian town of Nesebar, a UNESCO World Heritage site, was constructed in 1609 and measures 11.70 m in length and 5.70 m in width, with a single nave and apse. It is renowned for its wall paintings from the early 17th century depicting
The Church of St. Stephen (Bulgarian: Sveti Stefan) is a former Eastern Orthodox church that has been converted into a museum in Nessebar, Eastern Bulgaria. It is part of the city's architectural and historical reserve, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the 100 national tourist
The Church of the Holy Archangels Michael and Gabriel is a medieval Eastern Orthodox church largely intact in the Bulgarian town of Nesebar (ancient Mesembria) on the Black Sea coast in Burgas Province. It was constructed during the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries and is part of the Ancient
The more than 3,000-year-old site of Nessebar, which is located on a rocky peninsula on the Black Sea, was originally a Thracian village (Menebria). The city was a Greek colony in the start of the sixth century BC. The acropolis, an Apollo temple, an agora, and a wall from the Thracian defences