Back to Arinsal
Share

Arinsal · Travel article

Comapedrosa Refuges and Overnight Routes: A Planning Guide

Compare the guarded Comapedrosa refuge with two free shelters, then plan seasonal access, booking, equipment and a realistic return.

No available photo for Comapedrosa Refuges and Overnight Routes: A Planning Guide

An overnight in the Comapedrosa valleys begins with one important distinction: the guarded Refugi del Comapedrosa is a staffed mountain lodging with bookable services, while the Pla de l’Estany and Les Fonts refuges are free, unmanned shelters. All three sit within the communal natural park, but they do not offer the same certainty, supplies or route experience. The guarded refuge lies at 2,260 metres above Arinsal; the two free shelters are listed at 2,050 and 2,195 metres. A refuge symbol is not a confirmed bed, a meal booking or a report that the route is passable on the date you plan to walk.S001S002S003

The main route to the guarded refuge is a mountain ascent from the Arinsal/Prats Sobirans access area. The current operator describes 3.85 kilometres one way, 685 metres of positive elevation and an estimated two to two and a half hours, with moderate difficulty. That is an operator estimate for the approach, not a complete overnight itinerary or a promise of the same time for every walker. Start early enough to reach the refuge within its meal and check-in arrangements, and plan the next day’s route and exit before reserving a night.S004

The two free refuges create a different kind of plan. They have basic furnishings and are listed as open all year, but the Government notes that maintenance is carried out only in summer. There is no reservation system or staffed service described for them, and published capacity figures should not be read as guaranteed sleeping space. Bring the equipment, food and water plan needed to be self-sufficient, and keep a realistic alternative if the shelter is full or unsuitable. The park prohibits unauthorised motor vehicles, restricts movement to its path network, bans fires and requires authorisation for camps of more than three tents.S002S003S005

Three shelters, two different overnight models

The park lists three shelters: Pla de l’Estany (2,050 m, free), Les Fonts (2,195 m, free) and the guarded Comapedrosa refuge (2,265 m). Their elevations are relatively close on paper, but altitude alone does not tell you how long the approach takes, whether two trails connect as expected, or what the return requires. The park itinerary list treats the Pla de l’Estany path and Comapedrosa Refuge path as separate routes, while the refuge operator describes its route from the same broad Arinsal access area. Confirm the exact trail and junctions rather than assuming that the three buildings form a short, straightforward chain.S001S002S003

ShelterPublished modelWhat to plan around
Refugi del ComapedrosaGuarded, with overnight stays, food and drink, showers and a self-catering area listed by its operator.Reserve directly and confirm the staffed dates, service package, price and arrival requirements. Published capacity differs between sources.
Refugi del Pla de l’EstanyFree, unmanned refuge listed at 2,050 m.Carry a complete overnight kit; the park’s Pla de l’Estany path is a separate route and current conditions are not stated by the refuge listing.
Refugi de les FontsFree, unmanned refuge listed at 2,195 m.No guarded service is listed. Confirm the route and connection to the intended start/exit; do not infer proximity from the elevation alone.

The distinction affects more than comfort. A booking at the guarded refuge can make sleeping space and meal arrangements more predictable, subject to confirmation. An unmanned refuge is a shared public shelter: it may already be occupied, its condition can vary, and there is no staff member to provide dinner or solve a missed connection. Neither option substitutes for checking weather, route conditions, daylight and the party’s ability to complete the approach and return.S002S003S004

The guarded Comapedrosa refuge

The guarded refuge stands near Estany de les Truites, at roughly 2,260–2,265 metres in the heart of the park. It is reached on foot, not by road. The park describes it as close to the lake and accessible by the Comapedrosa Path; the operator describes a route that starts near the Prats Sobirans urbanisation and park car park, climbs the Pla de l’Estany forest track, then follows a steeper path through the north-facing Obaga de Comapedrosa. Near Collet de Comapedrosa the landscape opens towards the glacial cirque and Estany de les Truites before a final traverse reaches the refuge.S002S004

This sequence gives the approach its character: a forest-track start becomes a steeper mountain path, and the last section opens into high terrain. The operator splits its published route into 2.5 kilometres with 450 metres of ascent on the Pla de l’Estany track, 1.3 kilometres with 250 metres on the Obaga section and a final 0.4 kilometres with 40 metres to the refuge. These segments add to the stated 3.85 kilometres and 685 metres of gain, subject to rounding. They help a walker understand where the climb changes, but they do not establish a safe pace, surface condition or universal suitability.S004

The route is described as moderate by the operator. Treat that as its classification, not as a guarantee for a first-time mountain walker, a child, a person carrying a heavy pack or anyone unfamiliar with steep terrain. The overnight pack adds weight to the same ascent. Build in pauses, water and a slower pace; if the group cannot reach the refuge while the service is operating, contact the operator rather than assuming that dinner, a late arrival or an alternative bed will be available.S004

Booking and beds: resolve the capacity discrepancy

The park’s English refuge page says the guarded refuge has around 48 places, of which 50 correspond to the guarded section and the rest to an unmanned section—an internally inconsistent description. The Government’s refuge register lists 48 beds. The current operator website advertises 45 overnight places. These figures do not align, so avoid using any one number as a guarantee of capacity. Book directly through the operator and rely on an individual confirmation for the actual party and date.S002S003S004

The operator says continuous opening runs from 1 June to 12 October 2026 and that outside those dates it opens under reservation. The Government register describes the regular season as beginning the first weekend in June and ending 12 October; the park’s visitor page gives a broader statement that the staffed refuge is open from June to September. The operator is the appropriate source for booking its service, but these differences mean that a date near a shoulder-season boundary should be checked directly. Do not assume that a general “June–September” summary overrides the operator’s current calendar or that “outside these dates under reservation” means a reservation is automatically possible for any group.S002S003S004

For the 2026 season, the operator lists half-board (overnight, dinner and breakfast) at €55.80 per person, full board at €71, lodging only at €21.90, and sheet rental at €10.85. It lists lunch, vegetarian meals and picnic options separately. These are dated 2026 tariffs, not future-year prices or proof that a meal is included in the selected reservation. Check the live tariff and what each package includes before paying, especially if you have allergies, dietary needs or a late approach.S004

The service schedule matters to the walking day: the operator lists bar service from 08:00 to 21:00, lunch from 12:30 to 15:00 and dinner at 19:30. Its page says phone attention is available 09:00–19:00 and recommends advance reservation, particularly in July and August. Arrive with enough margin for the confirmed check-in and dinner arrangements; these posted hours can change and should be reconfirmed. A mountain itinerary that reaches the door after a missed dinner time is not equivalent to an ordinary hotel check-in.S004

The operator describes the refuge as off-grid, without conventional electricity or water connections, and says it operates autonomously. It lists solar showers, food and drink, area information, a self-catering zone and telephone attention. This helps explain why services and resource use are managed carefully. Do not assume unlimited hot water, charging, connectivity or restaurant flexibility from the fact that the building is staffed. Ask the operator about the facilities that matter to your group and bring a power bank and essential supplies rather than relying on a socket or a live mobile connection.S004

What the refuge changes—and what it does not

A guarded refuge can reduce the weight of meals and may supply a sheet rental, but it does not remove the need for mountain clothing, a water plan, navigation, sun and weather protection, or food for the approach. It also does not make a summit attempt part of the standard overnight stay. The park’s itinerary page identifies the Alt de Comapedrosa Peak Path as a separate route branching from near the refuge approach. A night at the refuge may make that objective more logistically possible, but the route remains a distinct high-mountain undertaking with its own conditions, technical demands and return requirements.S002S004

The park’s refuge page mentions a simple 1.5-kilometre biodiversity itinerary with 60 metres of climb in the area around the guarded refuge. That is a separate local walk and should not be confused with the ascent from Arinsal or with the summit trail. The operator also describes the shelter as a base for longer circuits such as Coronallacs and Els Gegants de les Tres Nacions. Those multi-day routes extend beyond a single refuge stay and need separate route, accommodation, transport and weather planning.S002S004

The free refuges: Pla de l’Estany and Les Fonts

The free shelters are for self-sufficient walkers who accept uncertainty. The Government register lists Pla de l’Estany at 2,050 metres with six beds, open year-round, and describes a stove, table and benches with water nearby. Les Fonts is listed at 2,195 metres with six beds, also open year-round, with a stove, table and benches and water nearby. The park identifies both as free refuges. These descriptions do not establish a reservation, a regular inspection, a safe drinking-water supply or that the shelter will be unoccupied on arrival.S002S003

The park says the Pla de l’Estany Path climbs mainly north-west from the mobile barrier near the Arinsal dam to Les Agunes and La Coruvilla bordes. Its page presents this as one of the park’s ten principal itineraries and links technical information. It separately describes the Comapedrosa Refuge Path as starting on the Pla de l’Estany track and continuing to the guarded refuge. This means that an overnight near Pla de l’Estany and an ascent onward to the guarded refuge are related geographically but still involve distinct route choices. Read the current technical sheet and inspect the actual return path; do not splice route pages into a new loop without checking the complete map.S001

The sources available for Les Fonts establish its identity and facilities but do not supply enough route detail in the refuge listing to recommend a particular overnight circuit here. A shelter name and coordinates are not an end-to-end itinerary. Before using Les Fonts, identify the exact approach on the current park map, confirm junctions, total ascent and return to your transport, and check whether the route is suitable for your group and season. Where the official route document is unavailable or its geometry is unclear, ask the park rather than filling the gap with an unverified track from a user-submitted map.S002S003

Capacity at an unmanned shelter is particularly easy to misunderstand. Six listed beds do not mean six visitors can reserve them, nor that every sleeping surface is usable or available. Other walkers may arrive; a shelter could need cleaning or maintenance; and the source’s all-year status does not promise that its approach is clear of snow, ice or damage. Carry a sleeping system that suits the conditions and have a realistic turnaround or exit plan if you cannot use the shelter. Do not set out assuming that another refuge will be empty as a backup.S003S005

Start, parking and the transport connection

The principal approach begins around Arinsal, near the Prats Sobirans urbanisation and park access. The park’s main car park is beyond the Arinsal dam tunnel; it is paid, holds about 50 vehicles and has a maximum stay of three days. The park says it is closed in winter and open during the rest of the year. Free parking is also listed next to the visitor information point before the tunnel. Check current access, fees, time limits and closure information before leaving a vehicle for an overnight stay; do not assume that parking rules remain the same each season.S005

The park information point is before the tunnel and includes route and refuge information, interpretive panels, tables, benches and a large path map. Its published opening hours are limited: July and August, daily 08:00–15:00. That is a useful resource for summer orientation, not an all-season service desk or a way to obtain last-minute route approval. If the trip falls outside those months or you arrive early or late, download the current map and obtain essential refuge and access information in advance.S006

The park identifies national bus line L5 towards Arinsal, with the last stop at the Arinsal car park near the park. The park page displays a frequency and service window, but transit schedules can change; confirm the line, stop, direction and return service with the live operator for the chosen day. Reaching Arinsal by bus does not make the refuge a bus-accessible accommodation: the final approach is on foot and gains 685 metres. Check how you will return to your lodging after descending, particularly if your walk finishes outside the last bus window.S006S007

For an overnight, solve both ends of the trip. If using a car, verify whether it can remain in the selected car park for the full stay; the main park car park lists a three-day maximum and seasonal closure. If using the bus, record the actual last service and allow time to descend from the refuge to the stop. Do not rely on an informal lift from staff, an assumed taxi at the trailhead or a park vehicle entering the protected area: the park rules prohibit unauthorised motor vehicles and require walkers to stay on the path network.S005S007S008

Plan an overnight without turning it into a summit day by default

The refuge approach from Arinsal is already a mountain outing. At 3.85 kilometres and +685 metres according to the operator, it is a sustained climb with a heavier pack; the stated 2–2.5-hour estimate describes the ascent, not time for rest, photos, slower groups or the return. A first-day plan can simply reach the guarded refuge, settle in and take the short biodiversity itinerary if conditions and remaining daylight permit. Adding a summit or a high pass because the refuge has made the start closer can change the day’s effort substantially.S002S004

For the second day, choose among returning the same way, taking a route that is explicitly shown as a loop, or continuing along a verified longer-distance itinerary. The park publishes ten main routes and links technical details and GPX files, but those route entries do not automatically make every combination an approved overnight circuit. Confirm the complete line, junctions and exit on the current map. If the second day ends in another valley or across the border, arrange the transfer and any necessary transport before starting.S001S009

The park’s signposting uses different symbols: yellow dots mark communal paths, red-and-white stripes mark GR long-distance footpaths, yellow-and-red stripes identify GRP routes, and vertical banners show direction, distance and pictograms for features such as refuges, waterfalls or viewpoints. Learn the signs, but do not treat them as a replacement for the route sheet. A GR marker can continue beyond the destination you need, and a refuge pictogram only indicates a feature along a route, not how far it is or whether that shelter is suitable for your overnight.S009

The operator also describes the Comapedrosa refuge as a support point for longer routes including Coronallacs and Els Gegants de les Tres Nacions. Those names indicate a broader multi-day context, not a ready-made itinerary for someone who has booked one night. Before linking the refuge into a longer crossing, confirm the route’s full stage sequence, the other shelters’ booking or free-use arrangements, entry and exit transport, border or trail notices, and the amount of food and equipment required between staffed stops. A single refuge booking does not reserve accommodation elsewhere, and a route that passes the building may continue well beyond the operator’s Arinsal approach.S004S009

For a multi-night plan, check the weight of the full pack against the steep first approach, not only the first day’s distance. Half-board can reduce food carried for one night, while an unmanned shelter requires the party to bring its provisions and sleeping equipment. The following day may involve another climb even if the first leg ended at a refuge. Carry a margin for delays, but do not compensate for a poorly chosen itinerary by packing unnecessary weight; confirm what each stop provides, then plan the gaps between stops as independent mountain stages.S003S004

Use a turnaround rule that accounts for the next day as well as the first. If the approach is slower than expected, the weather deteriorates or the party is tired, reaching a refuge is not a reason to push onwards to a summit. A booked bed should not override a go/no-go decision; contact the operator if a late arrival becomes likely, and follow its instructions. If the free shelter is full or the route is unclear, use the alternative plan you made before departure rather than improvising a traverse in fading light.S004S010

Pack for the service you actually have

For a guarded stay, read the selected package carefully. Half-board includes lodging, dinner and breakfast according to the operator’s 2026 listing; full board includes lunch as well. Lodging-only visitors need to know whether food can be purchased at the posted hours, whether the kitchen zone is available, and what cookware or fuel is permitted. Sheet rental is a separate listed charge. Ask about allergies or dietary needs in advance and wait for confirmation; a menu option on a page is not proof of an arrangement for a particular reservation.S004

For a free refuge, pack on the assumption that no food, staff, bedding, fuel or clean water will be supplied. Government descriptions mention nearby water at both shelters, but do not treat that as evidence of potable water or year-round flow. Carry enough water or a treatment method, food for the planned period and an emergency margin, a sleeping bag and mat suited to the conditions, a headtorch, navigation, warm and waterproof clothing, sun protection and personal medication. The overnight pack should be tested on a shorter walk before a first long ascent.S003S010

Regardless of refuge type, tell a person outside the group where you plan to walk and when you expect to return. Carry a charged phone, but do not assume coverage throughout the park. The park asks visitors to check weather, match the route to physical condition and mountain knowledge, carry food and water, and take warm clothing, waterproofs and mountain boots. It also warns that avalanche risk may be high in spring and winter. Those seasonal warnings require current local conditions and suitable expertise; a summer route sheet is not winter travel advice.S010

Shared-shelter etiquette, fire and camping

The two free refuges are shared public facilities. Leave the shelter clean, keep noise low, respect other people who are sleeping and do not leave rubbish outside authorised disposal points. The park asks visitors to respect flora and fauna, keep dogs on a leash because livestock graze in the area, and remain on the marked path network. These rules matter especially around an overnight shelter, where people may be resting before an early start and where grazing animals use the same landscape.S010

Do not light a fire. The park’s basic-rules page explicitly bans fires inside the protected open space. A stove or kitchen arrangement should only be used where the park and refuge operator permit it; never assume that a fireplace visible in a free shelter overrides the park rule. Bring food that can be eaten without an outdoor flame if no permitted cooking option is confirmed. Do not burn packaging or leave fuel containers behind.S010

Camping is not an automatic overflow arrangement if an unmanned refuge is occupied. The park requires authorisation for camps of more than three tents. That rule is specific to the park’s published guidance and should be checked against the current regulation and the precise location, group and camp size before departure. Do not infer that a smaller number of tents is permitted everywhere, or that a tent may be pitched beside any refuge. Ask park management where camping is allowed and what current restrictions apply.S010

Seasonality and source conflicts

The guarded refuge’s operating calendar is not stated identically across official and operator sources. The park page says June to September; the Government lists the regular season from the first weekend in June to 12 October; the refuge operator gives continuous opening from 1 June to 12 October 2026, with opening outside those dates under reservation. These may reflect different update timing and service definitions. For a specific stay, the operator’s current calendar and written confirmation are decisive; the park and Government pages help identify the broader seasonal context but should not be read as a live booking confirmation.S002S003S004

Capacity figures also differ. The Government lists 48 beds; the operator advertises 45 overnight places; the park page’s prose mixes the numbers 60, 50 and “the rest” for the guarded and unmanned portions. Do not publish a single unqualified number as settled. For a visitor, the actionable facts are whether the reservation is confirmed, which part of the refuge is operating, and what service is included. Ask those questions directly and use the operator’s booking confirmation rather than directory capacity.S002S003S004

The free refuges’ “open all year” listings describe the shelters’ general status, not winter access. The park warns that avalanche risk may be high in spring and winter and tells visitors to obtain weather information and choose routes in keeping with their mountain experience. Snow, ice, shorter days and changing water conditions can make a route impassable or beyond a group’s ability even if a refuge appears available on a map. Check current forecasts, notices and local advice close to departure, and be prepared to cancel.S003S010

When to seek a guide or choose a simpler walk

The staffed refuge offers an overnight base, not a qualification in mountain travel. If your plan includes a summit, an exposed pass, off-season snow, uncertain navigation or a traverse beyond the main refuge path, consider a qualified local mountain guide. The park maintains a page for authorised guides and directs visitors to mountain-preparation information; confirm current credentials, availability, itinerary, equipment expectations and cancellation terms directly. This is especially important for winter conditions, for which the park expressly flags avalanche risk.S010S011

An overnight may not be the right way to experience the park. The self-guided educational itinerary, park viewpoints and lower routes offer other ways to encounter the area without carrying overnight equipment. A visitor who wants a shorter outing can choose one of those after checking its current access and conditions. The park’s route menu separates such visits from the Comapedrosa refuge approach and the peak path; that separation helps a traveller choose a scale that fits rather than turning every stay into a summit objective.S001S012

Before you leave Arinsal

Confirm the exact refuge, the operating model and the reservation status. For the guarded refuge, verify dates, sleeping arrangement, meals, arrival expectations, 2026 or current-year price, cancellation terms and what is included. For a free refuge, assume no reservation or staff service, carry a complete kit and plan for the shelter to be occupied. If you cannot confirm a viable overnight, choose a day route that returns to the trailhead instead of relying on an unapproved camp.S002S003S004

Check the actual route from the car park or bus stop to the shelter, then the route from the refuge to the exit. Use the current park route file and map, and do not combine two path descriptions without confirming the full junction sequence. Verify parking availability and winter closures or, if travelling by bus, the exact line and final return service. Keep a margin for slower walking and changing conditions; a scheduled meal time or bus departure is not a safe turnaround point.S001S005S006

Finally, review weather, daylight and seasonal hazards, pack for the accommodation you have actually secured, tell someone your route and return time, and be ready to turn around. The best refuge plan is not the one that strings together the greatest number of named places. It is the one that makes the approach, overnight and exit coherent even if the walk takes longer or the weather changes.S010

Public Sources

S001: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Itineraries, accessed 24 September 2026. Ten principal routes; distinction between Pla de l’Estany, refuge, peak, Sanfons and connecting paths; park safety notes. S002: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Refuges, accessed 24 September 2026. Three refuges, free/guarded classification, public capacity and seasonal claims, biodiversity loop. S003: Govern d’Andorra, List of Andorra’s refuges, accessed 24 September 2026. Shelter locations, listed beds/facilities, year-round label, staffed refuge seasonal details and operator contact. S004: Refugi del Comapedrosa, Official operator website, accessed 24 September 2026. 2026 services, seasonal opening, route description/metrics, posted schedule, prices, capacity and off-grid facilities. Recheck before booking. S005: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Parking, accessed 24 September 2026. Main car park location, approximate capacity, fee status, three-day maximum and winter closure. S006: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, The park information point, accessed 24 September 2026. Information facilities, visitor-centre hours, public-transport lead and L5 stop. S007: Coopalsa + Nadal, L5 Andorra la Vella–Arinsal, accessed 24 September 2026. Operator timetable lead; article directs readers to recheck service on their date and does not claim a guaranteed return connection. S008: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Basic rules, accessed 24 September 2026. Vehicle/path/fire/rubbish/wildlife/dog/camping rules and avalanche warning. S009: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Signposting, accessed 24 September 2026. Meanings of yellow dots, GR, GRP, vertical route banners and refuge pictograms. S010: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Basic rules, and Itineraries, accessed 24 September 2026. Park preparation advice, no-fire rule, camping threshold and seasonal hazard notes. S011: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Authorised guides, accessed 24 September 2026. Park guidance entry point; specific availability and credentials not independently confirmed. S012: Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Comapedrosa Educational Itinerary, accessed 24 September 2026. Distinct lower self-guided educational experience.

Sources

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Itineraries, accessed 24 September 2026. Ten principal routes; distinction between Pla de l’Estany, refuge, peak, Sanfons and connecting paths; park safety notes ↩

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Refuges, accessed 24 September 2026. Three refuges, free/guarded classification, public capacity and seasonal claims, biodiversity loop ↩

Govern d’Andorra, List of Andorra’s refuges, accessed 24 September 2026. Shelter locations, listed beds/facilities, year-round label, staffed refuge seasonal details and operator contact ↩

Refugi del Comapedrosa, Official operator website, accessed 24 September 2026. 2026 services, seasonal opening, route description/metrics, posted schedule, prices, capacity and off-grid facilities. Recheck before booking ↩

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Parking, accessed 24 September 2026. Main car park location, approximate capacity, fee status, three-day maximum and winter closure ↩

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, The park information point, accessed 24 September 2026. Information facilities, visitor-centre hours, public-transport lead and L5 stop ↩

Coopalsa + Nadal, L5 Andorra la Vella–Arinsal, accessed 24 September 2026. Operator timetable lead; article directs readers to recheck service on their date and does not claim a guaranteed return connection ↩

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Basic rules, accessed 24 September 2026. Vehicle/path/fire/rubbish/wildlife/dog/camping rules and avalanche warning ↩

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Signposting, accessed 24 September 2026. Meanings of yellow dots, GR, GRP, vertical route banners and refuge pictograms ↩

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Basic rules, and Itineraries, accessed 24 September 2026. Park preparation advice, no-fire rule, camping threshold and seasonal hazard notes https://comapedrosa.ad/en/basic-rules/ ↩

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Authorised guides, accessed 24 September 2026. Park guidance entry point; specific availability and credentials not independently confirmed ↩

Parc Natural Comunal de les Valls del Comapedrosa, Comapedrosa Educational Itinerary, accessed 24 September 2026. Distinct lower self-guided educational experience ↩

More guides for Arinsal

Related travel articles