Freitag, Juni 21, 2024
Kingston Reiseführer - Travel S Helper

Kingston

Reiseführer
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Kingston ist die Hauptstadt und größte Stadt Jamaikas und liegt an der Südostküste der Insel. Es wird von den Palisadoes geschützt, einer großen Sandzunge, die die Stadt Port Royal und den Norman Manley International Airport mit dem Rest der Insel verbindet. Kingston ist die größte überwiegend englischsprachige Stadt in Amerika südlich der Vereinigten Staaten.

Mit dem Kingston and St. Andrew Corporation Act von 1923 wurden die lokalen Regierungseinheiten der Gemeinden Kingston und St. Andrew zur Kingston and St. Andrew Corporation (KSAC) zusammengelegt. Greater Kingston, oft als „Corporate Area“ bekannt, bezieht sich auf die vom KSAC abgedeckten Gebiete; Es bezieht sich jedoch nicht nur auf die Gemeinde Kingston, die aus der alten Innenstadt und Port Royal besteht. Im Jahr 2001 hatte die Gemeinde Kingston 96,052 Einwohner, während die Gemeinde St. Andrew 555,828 Einwohner hatte. Kingston wird im Osten, Westen und Norden ausschließlich von Saint Andrew begrenzt. Tivoli Gardens, Denham Town, die Innenstadt von Kingston, National Heroes Park, Kingston Gardens, Rae Town, Bournemouth Gardens, Norman Gardens, Springfield, Rennock Lodge, Port Royal und Teile von Allman Town, Franklyn Town und Rollington Town bilden die Gemeinde Kingston's geografische Grenze.

Six Miles im Westen, Stony Hill im Norden, Papine im Nordosten und Harbour View im Osten sind Siedlungen im städtischen und vorstädtischen Saint Andrew. Gordon Town, Mavis Bank, Lawrence Tavern, Mt. Airy und Bull Bay im ländlichen St. Andrew würden nicht als in Kingston City liegend betrachtet.

Die zentrale Region von Kingston ist in zwei Abschnitte unterteilt: die alte Innenstadt und New Kingston. Beide werden vom Norman Manley International Airport sowie vom Tinson Pen Aerodrome bedient, der hauptsächlich für Inlandsflüge genutzt wird.

Flüge & Hotels
suchen und vergleichen

Wir vergleichen die Zimmerpreise von 120 verschiedenen Hotelbuchungsdiensten (einschließlich Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.com und anderen), sodass Sie die günstigsten Angebote auswählen können, die nicht einmal bei jedem Dienst separat aufgeführt sind.

100% bester Preis

Der Preis für ein und dasselbe Zimmer kann je nach verwendeter Website unterschiedlich sein. Der Preisvergleich ermöglicht es, das beste Angebot zu finden. Außerdem kann es vorkommen, dass derselbe Raum in einem anderen System einen anderen Verfügbarkeitsstatus hat.

Keine Gebühr und keine Gebühren

Wir berechnen unseren Kunden keine Provisionen oder zusätzliche Gebühren und arbeiten nur mit bewährten und zuverlässigen Unternehmen zusammen.

Bewertungen und Rezensionen

Wir verwenden TrustYou™, das intelligente semantische Analysesystem, um Bewertungen von vielen Buchungsdiensten (einschließlich Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.com und anderen) zu sammeln und Bewertungen basierend auf allen online verfügbaren Bewertungen zu berechnen.

Rabatte und Angebote

Wir suchen nach Reisezielen über eine große Datenbank von Buchungsdiensten. Auf diese Weise finden wir die besten Rabatte und bieten sie Ihnen an.

Kingston | Einführung

Kingston – Infokarte

BEVÖLKERUNG :  Stadt: 937,700
GEGRÜNDET :   1692
ZEITZONE :  EST (UTC-5)
SPRACHE :  Englisch, englisches Patois
RELIGION:  Protestanten 62.5 % (Siebenten-Tags-Adventisten 10.8 %, Pfingstler 9.5 %, Andere Kirche Gottes 8.3 %, Baptisten 7.2 %, Neutestamentliche Kirche Gottes 6.3 %, Kirche Gottes in Jamaika 4.8 %, Kirche Gottes der Prophezeiung 4.3 %, Anglikaner 3.6 %, andere Christen 7.7 %), römisch-katholisch 2.6 %, andere oder nicht näher bezeichnete 14.2 %, keine 20.9 %
BEREICH :  480 km2 (190 Quadratmeilen)
HÖHE :  9 m (30 ft)
KOORDINATEN:  17°59'N 76°48'W
GESCHLECHTERVERHÄLTNIS :  Männlich: 48%
 Weiblich: 52 %
ETHNISCH :  schwarz 91.2 %, gemischt 6.2 %, andere oder unbekannte 2.6 %
GEBIETCODE:  770
POSTLEITZAHL :
WAHLCODE :  +1876 770

Tourismus in Kingston

Kingston, die Hauptstadt Jamaikas, liegt an der Südostküste der Insel. Diese Stadt ist in zwei Bereiche unterteilt: „Downtown“ und „Uptown“, auch bekannt als „New Kingston“. Kingston war eine Zeit lang Jamaikas einzige Stadt und bleibt das wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Zentrum des Landes. Sie werden sehen, dass der Stadt Postleitzahlen (Kingston 5, Kingston 10 usw.) zugewiesen wurden, was ein fantastisches Beispiel dafür ist, wie riesig diese Metropole ist, insbesondere für eine Insel wie Jamaika.

Kingston verfügt über eine Vielzahl von städtischen Parks, die ständig an verschiedene Veranstaltungen und Festivals im jamaikanischen Kalender angepasst werden. Emancipation Park, Hope Gardens, Devon House, National Heroes' Park, St. William Grant Park und Mandela Park gehören zu den beliebtesten Parks.

Geographie von Kingston

Die Blue Mountains, Red Hills, Long Mountain und der Hafen von Kingston umgeben Kingston. Die Stadt liegt in der Liguanea-Ebene, einer Schwemmlandebene neben dem Hope River. Kingston ist anfällig für Erdbeben, insbesondere das Beben von 1907.

Wirtschaft von Kingston

Kingston ist für die jamaikanische Wirtschaft von entscheidender Bedeutung. Der Großteil der wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten findet in Kingston statt, und da die Mehrheit der Regierungsabteilungen dort ihren Sitz hat, ist die Stadt ein entscheidender Faktor in der Gesetzgebung in Bezug auf Jamaikas Finanzen. Aufgrund der hohen Bevölkerungsdichte der Hauptstadt findet der Großteil der Geldtransaktionen in Kingston statt, was den größten Teil der lokalen Wirtschaft Jamaikas antreibt. Die Metropolregion Kingston ist die Heimat mehrerer internationaler Unternehmen und Finanzinstitute.

Die jamaikanische Regierung hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Kingston zu einem internationalen Finanzzentrum zu entwickeln, und entsprechende Gesetze wurden verabschiedet. Dieses IFC wird höchstwahrscheinlich in der Nähe von Kingstons Uferpromenade platziert und Teil eines größeren Revitalisierungs- und Gentrifizierungsplans für das Stadtzentrum sein.

Der Hauptsitz von Air Jamaica befindet sich in Kingston.

Asien

Africa

Südamerika

Europa

Nordamerika

Weiter

Herceg Novi

Obwohl nicht die prächtigste Stadt Montenegros (diese Ehre geht an Kotor), ist Herceg Novi zweifellos die angenehmste und verdient mehrere Tage...

Yaounde

Yaoundé ist die Hauptstadt Kameruns und mit rund 2.5 Millionen Einwohnern nach der Küstenstadt Douala die zweitgrößte Metropole des Landes. Es...

Aschgabat

Ashgabat ist Turkmenistans Hauptstadt und größte Stadt in Zentralasien und liegt zwischen der Karakum-Wüste und dem Kopet-Dag-Gebirge. Der historische Name für...

Bagdad

Bagdad ist die Hauptstadt und größte Stadt der Republik Irak. Die Stadt wurde im achten Jahrhundert am Fluss Tigris erbaut und wurde zum...

Mykonos

Mykonos (Griechisch: Μύκoνος) ist ein bekanntes Touristenziel in der Kykladengruppe griechischer Inseln in der Ägäis. Mykonos liegt in...

Val d'Isère

Viele halten Val d'Isère für eines der besten Wintersportziele Europas. Jahr für Jahr strömen begeisterte Ski-, Snowboard- und Partyfans nach...

Friday, January 13, 2023
Kingston Travel Guide - Travel S Helper

Kingston

travel guide

Kingston is the capital and biggest city of Jamaica, situated on the island’s southeastern coast. It is protected by the Palisadoes, a large sand spit that links the town of Port Royal and the Norman Manley International Airport to the remainder of the island. Kingston is the biggest mostly English-speaking city in the Americas south of the United States.

The Kingston and St. Andrew Corporation Act of 1923 merged the local government entities of Kingston and St. Andrew parishes to become the Kingston and St. Andrew Corporation (KSAC). Greater Kingston, often known as the “Corporate Area,” refers to the territories covered by the KSAC; nevertheless, it does not only relate to Kingston Parish, which comprises of the ancient downtown and Port Royal. In 2001, Kingston Parish had a population of 96,052, while St. Andrew Parish had a population of 555,828. Kingston is solely bounded to the east, west, and north by Saint Andrew. Tivoli Gardens, Denham Town, downtown Kingston, National Heroes Park, Kingston Gardens, Rae Town, Bournemouth Gardens, Norman Gardens, Springfield, Rennock Lodge, Port Royal, and sections of Allman Town, Franklyn Town, and Rollington Town form the parish of Kingston’s geographical boundary.

Six Miles to the west, Stony Hill to the north, Papine to the northeast, and Harbour View to the east are settlements in both urban and suburban Saint Andrew. Gordon Town, Mavis Bank, Lawrence Tavern, Mt. Airy, and Bull Bay in rural St. Andrew would not be regarded as being in Kingston city.

Kingston’s center region is divided into two sections: the old Downtown and New Kingston. Both are serviced by Norman Manley International Airport as well as Tinson Pen Aerodrome, which is largely used for domestic flights.

Flights & Hotels
search and compare

We compare room prices from 120 different hotel booking services (including Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.com and others), enabling you to pick the most affordable offers that are not even listed on each service separately.

100% Best Price

The price for one and the same room can differ depending on the website you are using. Price comparison enables finding the best offer. Also, sometimes the same room can have a different availability status in another system.

No charge & No Fees

We don’t charge any commissions or extra fees from our customers and we cooperate only with proven and reliable companies.

Ratings and Reviews

We use TrustYou™, the smart semantic analysis system, to gather reviews from many booking services (including Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.com and others), and calculate ratings based on all the reviews available online.

Discounts and Offers

We search for destinations through a large booking services database. This way we find the best discounts and offer them to you.

Kingston | Introduction

Kingston – Info Card

POPULATION :  City: 937,700
FOUNDED :   1692
TIME ZONE :  EST (UTC-5)
LANGUAGE :  English, English patois
RELIGION :  Protestant 62.5% (Seventh-Day Adventist 10.8%, Pentecostal 9.5%, Other Church of God 8.3%, Baptist 7.2%, New Testament Church of God 6.3%, Church of God in Jamaica 4.8%, Church of God of Prophecy 4.3%, Anglican 3.6%, other Christian 7.7%), Roman Catholic 2.6%, other or unspecified 14.2%, none 20.9%
AREA :  480 km2 (190 sq mi)
ELEVATION :  9 m (30 ft)
COORDINATES :  17°59′N 76°48′W
SEX RATIO :  Male: 48%
 Female: 52%
ETHNIC :  black 91.2%, mixed 6.2%, other or unknown 2.6%
AREA CODE :  770
POSTAL CODE :
DIALING CODE :  +1876 770

Tourism in Kingston

Kingston, Jamaica’s capital, is situated on the island’s southeastern coast. This city is divided into two sections: ‘downtown’ and ‘uptown,’ also known as ‘New Kingston.’ Kingston was Jamaica’s sole city for a while and remains the country’s economic and cultural center. You’ll see that the city has been allocated zip codes (Kingston 5, Kingston 10, etc.), which is a fantastic illustration of how really huge this metropolis is, particularly for an island like Jamaica.

Kingston has a variety of urban parks that are constantly altered to suit different events and festivals on the Jamaican calendar. Emancipation Park, Hope Gardens, Devon House, National Heroes’ Park, St William Grant Park, and Mandela Park are among the most popular parks.

Geography of Kingston

The Blue Mountains, Red Hills, Long Mountain, and the Kingston Harbour surround Kingston. The city is located in the Liguanea plain, an alluvial plain next to the Hope River. Kingston is prone to earthquakes, notably the 1907 quake.

Economy of Kingston

Kingston is vital to the Jamaican economy. The great bulk of economic activity occurs in Kingston, and since the majority of government departments are based there, the city is a crucial factor in legislation pertaining to Jamaica’s finances. Because of the capital city’s high population density, the bulk of monetary transactions take place in Kingston, fuelling most of Jamaica’s local economy. The Kingston Metropolitan Area is home to several international businesses and financial institutions.

The Jamaican government has declared a goal to develop Kingston into an International Financial Centre, and as such, legislation has been approved. This IFC will most likely be placed near Kingston’s waterfront and will be part of a larger revitalisation and gentrification plan for the city center.

The headquarters of Air Jamaica are in Kingston.

Asia

Africa

South America

Europe

North America

Read Next

North Macedonia

North Macedonia, formally the Republic of North Macedonia, is a nation located in Southeast Europe’s Balkan peninsula. It is one of the former Yugoslavia’s...

Kragujevac

Kragujevac is Serbia’s fourth biggest city and the administrative center of the Šumadija District. It is located on the Lepenica River’s banks. The city...

Mendoza

Mendoza is the capital of Argentina’s Mendoza province. It is situated in the province’s northern-central section, on the eastern side of the Andes, amid...

Namibia

Namibia, formally the Republic of Namibia, is a republic in southern Africa with the Atlantic Ocean as its western boundary. It is bordered to...

Perth

Perth is the capital and biggest city of Western Australia, an Australian state. Greater Perth is Australia’s fourth-most populated metropolis, with an estimated population...

Novosibirsk

After Moscow and St. Petersburg, Novosibirsk is Russia’s third most populated city. With a population of 1,473,754 as of the 2010 Census, it is...