Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Ha Long Bay Travel Guide - Travel S Helper

Ha Long Bay

Read next

Ha Long Bay is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and a renowned tourist site in Qung Ninh Province, Vietnam. Administratively, the bay is part of Hạ Long City, Cẩm Phả town, and Vân Đồn District. The Gulf is home to hundreds of limestone karsts and isles of varying forms and sizes. H Long Bay is located in the middle of a broader zone that encompasses Bái Tử  Long Bay to the northeast and Cát Bà Island to the southwest. These bigger zones have comparable geological, geographical, geomorphological, climatic, and cultural characteristics.

Ha Long Bay covers around 1,553 km2 and is home to 1,960–2,000 islands, the most of which are limestone. The bay’s center is 334 km2 in size, with a high density of 775 islands. This bay’s limestone has been formed over 500 million years in a variety of circumstances and ecosystems. The karst in this bay evolved over 20 million years as a result of the tropical wet environment. The geo-diversity of the environment in the region has resulted in biodiversity, which includes a tropical evergreen biosystem, an oceanic biosystem, and a seashore biosystem. H Long Bay is home to 14 unique floral species and 60 endemic faunal species.

Historical research studies have shown the existence of prehistorical humans in this region tens of thousands of years ago. The Soi Nh civilization was approximately 18,000–7000 BC, the Cái Bèo culture was around 7000–5000 BC, and the H Long culture was roughly 5,000–3,500 years ago. H Long Bay also represented significant events in Vietnamese history, with numerous items discovered at Bài Th Mount, u G Cave, and Bi Cháy.

Nguyễn Trãi commended the grandeur of Hạ Long Bay in his verseLộ nhập Vân Đồn n 500 years ago, referring to it as a “rock marvel in the sky.” Ha Long Bay was recognized in the National Relics and Landscapes book of North Vietnam’s Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism in 1962. The core zone of Ha Long Bay was designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1994, according to criteria vii, and was re-designated in 2005, pursuant to criterion viii.

Tourism in Ha Long Bay

Ha Long Bay (also known as “Halong Bay”) is located in northern Vietnam, 170 kilometers (105 miles) east of Hanoi. The bay is well-known for its stunning ocean karst terrain and is often listed on lists of the world’s natural treasures, including the UNESCO World Heritage list.

The Ha Long Bay archipelago consists of 1,969 inhabited and deserted islands. These may be reached via a variety of ports, however in the case of Cat Ba, you can also arrive by car, motorcycle, bus (through Haiphong), or combination bus/boat (from Hanoi via Halong City).

Climate of Ha Long Bay

The bay’s climate is tropical, rainy, and sea island, with two seasons: hot and humid summer and dry and chilly winter. The average temperature is between 15 and 25 degrees Celsius, and yearly rainfall ranges between 2 and 2.2 meters. H Long Bay features a standard diurnal tide system (tide amplitude ranges from 3.5-4m). The salinity ranges from 31 and 34.5MT during the dry season and is lower during the wet season.

Geography of Ha Long Bay

Hạ Long Bay is in northeastern Vietnam, between E106°56′ and E107°37′, and between N20°43′ and N21°09′. The bay runs from Yên Hng district to Vân n District, and is bounded on the south and southeast by the Gulf of Tonkin, on the north by China, and on the west and southwest by Cát Bà Island. The bay has a 120-kilometer-long shoreline and a total area of 1,553 square kilometers, including roughly 2,000 islands. The UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site encompasses 434 km2 and 775 islands, with the core zone defined by 69 points: u G island on the west, Ba Hm lake on the south, and Cng Tây island on the east. The protected area extends from the Cái Dăm gas station to Quang Hanh commune, Cm Ph town, and the surrounding countryside.



South America


North America

Most Popular