Saturday, September 18, 2021

Visa & Passport Requirements for Ecuador

South AmericaEcuadorVisa & Passport Requirements for Ecuador

In 2008, the President of the Republic amended the regulations so that citizens of any nationality could enter Ecuador without a visa and stay for a period of ninety days per chronological year, in order to strengthen relations between Ecuador and all countries of the world and promote tourism. Since then, however, a visa requirement has been introduced for citizens of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, China and Somalia. Chinese citizens can obtain a visa-free stamp if they are permanent residents of Canada or the United States (there may be other exceptions). Members of the Andean Community can only enter with a national identity card and do not need a passport.

Ecuador requires Cuban nationals to obtain a letter of invitation before entering Ecuador through international airports or border crossings. This letter must be legalised by the Ecuadorian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and meet certain requirements. These requirements have been developed to ensure an organised migration flow between the two countries. Cuban nationals who hold a US green card must go to an Ecuadorian consulate to obtain a waiver of this requirement.

Your passport must be valid for at least 6 months beyond your travel dates. A return ticket is required to prove the duration of your stay.