Samedi, mai 21, 2022

Histoire du Bélize

Amérique du NordBelizeHistoire du Bélize

Lire la suite

Comme les régions voisines du Guatemala et du Mexique, cette région a été habitée pendant des milliers d'années par le peuple maya. Ils sont toujours là, une partie importante du peuple et de la culture du Belize. Bien que l'Empire espagnol ait revendiqué la région au XVIe siècle, les Espagnols ont fait peu de progrès dans sa colonisation. Les Britanniques se sont d'abord installés sur la côte et les îles au large pour le bois. En 16, les troupes britanniques au Belize ont vaincu les Espagnols qui tentaient de les chasser lors de la bataille de St. George's Caye, dont l'anniversaire est toujours célébré le 1798 septembre.

La colonie britannique du Honduras a vu le jour au XIXe siècle. Initialement, les Africains ont été amenés ici comme esclaves, mais l'esclavage a été aboli en 19. De nombreux réfugiés de la guerre des castes du Yucatán au XIXe siècle ont fui le conflit et se sont installés au Belize, en particulier dans la partie nord.

Le gouvernement du Guatemala prétend depuis longtemps avoir hérité de la revendication espagnole originale du XVe siècle sur le Belize. Bien que les Britanniques aient été prêts à accorder l'indépendance au Honduras britannique dès le milieu des années 15, ce différend en cours a joué un rôle majeur en retardant l'indépendance totale du Belize jusqu'en 1960, longtemps après que Londres eut accordé l'indépendance à d'autres anciennes colonies de la région. Le Guatemala a refusé de reconnaître un Belize indépendant jusqu'en 1981 et revendique à ce jour la quasi-totalité du territoire bélizien au sud de Belize City. La question reste sensible, en particulier dans la moitié sud du Belize.

Le Belize a échappé aux guerres civiles sanglantes des années 1980 qui ont englouti une grande partie de l'Amérique centrale, et des réfugiés du conflit guatémaltèque sont arrivés, s'installant principalement dans l'ouest. Bien que le Belize ne soit pas à l'abri de la criminalité liée à la drogue et de l'extrême pauvreté de ses voisins, c'est une destination relativement sûre dans une région du monde en proie à des conflits. Le Belize entretient des relations diplomatiques et économiques particulièrement étroites avec le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis.

Le tourisme est devenu le pilier de l'économie, tandis que les anciens produits agricoles – le sucre, les bananes et les oranges – ont perdu de l'importance. Le pays continue d'être en proie à un taux de chômage élevé, à une implication croissante dans le trafic de drogue sud-américain et à une criminalité urbaine croissante. En 2006, des quantités commerciales de pétrole ont été découvertes dans la région de Spanish Lookout.

Comment voyager au Belize

En avion L'aéroport international Philip SW Goldson (IATA : BZE) est situé à Ladyville, au nord-ouest de Belize City (environ 30 minutes en voiture). Il reçoit des vols internationaux directs d'Atlanta, Charlotte, Newark, Miami, Dallas, Houston, Flores, San Salvador, Roatan et San Pedro Sula.En voitureDepuis le Mexique via Chetumal, ou sur...

Comment voyager autour du Belize

Le Belize est un pays relativement petit et le transport entre la plupart des destinations est rarement long ou ardu. Par avionTropic Air et Maya Island Air proposent tous deux plusieurs vols quotidiens vers différentes villes du pays, ainsi que vers Ambergris Caye et Caye Caulker. Ils desservent les deux aéroports de Belize City,...

Destinations au Bélize

Régions du BelizeNord du BelizeLes districts de Corozal (côtier) et d'Orange Walk (à l'intérieur des terres).Le district de BelizeC'est là que se trouvent la plus grande ville, l'aéroport et un certain nombre d'îles populaires au largeCayo Ruines mayas et bien plus encore.Stann CreekZone côtière au sud de...

Météo et climat au Belize

Le Belize a un climat tropical avec des saisons humides et sèches distinctes, bien qu'il existe des variations considérables dans les conditions météorologiques selon la région. Les températures varient avec l'altitude, la proximité de la côte et les effets modérateurs des alizés du nord-est des Caraïbes. Les températures moyennes dans les zones côtières varient de 24°C...

Traditions & Coutumes au Bélize

Les Béliziens sont parmi les personnes les plus détendues au monde, surtout si vous vous aventurez à l'intérieur des terres, loin des îles touristiques d'Ambergris Caye et de Caye Caulker. Le rythme de vie est généralement plus lent au Belize, il est donc conseillé de commencer toute interaction sociale, même si vous êtes...

Argent et shopping au Belize

La monnaie du Belize est le dollar (BZD), divisé en 100 cents. rapport de 2:1 depuis 1978 (ex. 2 BZ$ = 1 USD)....

Nourriture et boissons au Belize

Nourriture au Belize Le repas principal, que l'on trouve presque partout, se compose de haricots rouges, de riz propre et de poulet. La plupart du poulet du pays est préparé et servi avec l'os. Le riz et les haricots sont un plat mélangé avec quelques épices et généralement du lait de coco ajouté pour en faire un bonbon...

Activités au Belize

Traversée tyrolienneSurvolez la forêt tropicale bélizienne lors d'une excursion en tyrolienne. Ces visites commencent généralement par une courte randonnée jusqu'à la première base, où une instruction sur l'utilisation sécuritaire de l'équipement a lieu. Les prix varient de 65 $ à 100 $ et les visites sont organisées par deux sociétés, Jaguar Paw...

Fêtes et jours fériés au Belize

DateJourConformité1er janvierNouvel An9 marsBaron Bliss Day (ou jour des héros et des bienfaiteurs nationaux)LundiBaron Bliss DayVendredi saintSamediSamedi saintDimanchePâquesLundi de Pâques1er maiFête du travailLundiFête du travail24 maiCommonwealth Day (ou Sovereign's Day)LundiCommonwealth Day10 septembreSaint George's Caye Day (or National Day)21 septembreJour de l'IndépendanceLundiIndependence Day12 Jour (ou jour de Christophe Colomb)19 novembre Jour de la colonisation Garifuna25 décembreNoël...

Langue et guide de conversation au Belize

En tant qu'ancienne colonie britannique, la langue officielle du Belize est l'anglais standard avec des règles d'orthographe britanniques, ce qui distingue le Belize de ses voisins hispanophones. L'espagnol, le garifuna (Carib) et les langues/dialectes mayas Kekchi, Mopan et Yucatec sont parlés dans parties du pays. Au nord et à l'ouest de la...

Internet et communications au Belize

Les cabines téléphoniques sont les téléphones publics les plus courants et acceptent les cartes téléphoniques pré-achetées. Les cafés Internet existent dans les grandes zones touristiques, mais ne sont pas courants dans les zones rurales. Auparavant, le gouvernement n'autorisait pas Skype et obligeait les touristes à utiliser leur propre compagnie de téléphone publique. appeler hors du pays. Dans...

Culture du Bélize

Dans le folklore bélizien, il y a les légendes de Lang Bobi Suzi, La Llorona, La Sucia, Luguchu Ellis, Tata Duende, Chatona, X'tabai, Anansi et le Cadejo. La plupart des vacances au Belize sont des vacances traditionnelles du Commonwealth et chrétiennes, bien que certaines soient spécifiques à la culture bélizienne, comme Garifuna Settlement Day et Baron Bliss...

Restez en sécurité et en bonne santé au Belize

Restez en sécurité au BelizeBelize City est la zone la plus dangereuse du Belize, bien qu'il soit très facile d'être en sécurité. Restez dans la zone touristique qui s'étend au nord de la marina jusqu'à l'extension sud à l'est du chenal principal. De nombreux agents kaki de la police touristique patrouillent dans le...

Asie

Afrique

Europe

PLUS POPULAIRE

Friday, January 21, 2022

History Of Belize

North AmericaBelizeHistory Of Belize

Read next

Like the neighbouring regions of Guatemala and Mexico, this area was inhabited for thousands of years by the Mayan people. They are still here, an important part of the people and culture of Belize. Although the Spanish Empire claimed the area in the 16th century, the Spanish made little progress in settling it. The British initially settled on the coast and offshore islands for timber. In 1798, British troops in Belize defeated the Spanish who tried to drive them out in the Battle of St. George’s Caye, the anniversary of which is still celebrated on 10 September.

The British colony of Honduras came into being in the 19th century. Initially, Africans were brought here as slaves, but slavery was abolished in 1838. Many refugees from the Yucatán Caste War of the 19th century fled the conflict and settled in Belize, especially in the northern part.

The government of Guatemala has long claimed to have inherited the original 15th century Spanish claim to Belize. Although the British were ready to grant independence to British Honduras as early as the mid-1960s, this ongoing dispute played a major role in delaying full independence for Belize until 1981, long after London had granted independence to other former colonies in the region. Guatemala refused to recognise an independent Belize until 1991 and to this day claims almost all Belizean territory south of Belize City. The issue remains sensitive, especially in the southern half of Belize.

Belize escaped the bloody civil wars of the 1980s that engulfed much of Central America, and refugees from the Guatemalan conflict arrived, settling mainly in the west. Although Belize is not immune to the drug-related crime and extreme poverty of its neighbours, it is a relatively safe destination in a conflict-ridden part of the world. Belize has particularly close diplomatic and economic ties with the UK and the US.

Tourism has become the mainstay of the economy, while the former agricultural products – sugar, bananas and oranges – have lost importance. The country continues to be plagued by high unemployment, increasing involvement in the South American drug trade and rising urban crime. In 2006, commercial quantities of oil were discovered in the Spanish Lookout region.

How To Travel To Belize

By airPhilip S. W. Goldson International Airport (IATA: BZE) is located in Ladyville, northwest of Belize City (about a 30-minute drive). It receives direct international flights from Atlanta, Charlotte, Newark, Miami, Dallas, Houston, Flores, San Salvador, Roatan and San Pedro Sula.By carFrom Mexico via Chetumal, or on a much...

How To Travel Around Belize

Belize is a relatively small country and transport between most destinations is rarely long or arduous.By airTropic Air and Maya Island Air both offer several daily flights to various cities in the country, as well as to Ambergris Caye and Caye Caulker. They serve both airports in Belize City,...

Destinations in Belize

Regions in BelizeNorthern BelizeThe Corozal (coastal) and Orange Walk (inland) districts.The Belize DistrictThis is where the largest city, airport and a number of popular offshore islands are locatedCayoThis central district is bursting with adventure and filled with jungle, caves, rivers, Mayan ruins and much more.Stann CreekCoastal area south of...

Weather & Climate in Belize

Belize has a tropical climate with distinct wet and dry seasons, although there is considerable variation in weather patterns depending on the region. Temperatures vary with altitude, proximity to the coast and the moderating effects of the northeastern Caribbean trade winds. Average temperatures in coastal areas range from 24°C...

Traditions & Customs in Belize

Belizeans are some of the most relaxed people in the world, especially if you venture inland, away from the tourist islands of Ambergris Caye and Caye Caulker. The pace of life is generally slower in Belize, so it is advisable to start any social interaction, even if you are...

Money & Shopping in Belize

The currency of Belize is the dollar (BZD), divided into 100 cents.The Belizean dollar - sometimes written as "B$" or simply as the dollar sign "$" - has been officially pegged to the US dollar (USD) at a ratio of 2:1 since 1978 (e.g. 2 BZ$ = 1 USD)....

Food & Drinks in Belize

Food in BelizeThe main meal, which can be found almost everywhere, consists of red beans, clean rice and chicken.Most chicken in the country is prepared and served with the bone.Rice and beans is a mixed dish with some spices and usually coconut milk added to make it a sweet...

Things To Do in Belize

Tyrolean crossingFly over the Belizean rainforest on a zip-line tour. These tours usually start with a short hike to the first base, where an instruction on the safe use of the equipment takes place.Prices range from $65 to $100 and the tours are organised by two companies, Jaguar Paw...

Festivals & Holidays in Belize

DateDayCompliance1 JanuaryNew Year's Day9 MarchBaron Bliss Day (oder National Heroes and Benefactors Day)MondayBaron Bliss DayFridayGood FridaySaturdayHoly SaturdaySundayEasterMondayEaster Monday1 MayLabour DayMondayLabour Day24 MayCommonwealth Day (or Sovereign's Day)MondayCommonwealth Day10 SeptemberSaint George's Caye Day (or National Day)21 SeptemberIndependence DayMondayIndependence DayMondayDay of the Americas12 OctoberAmerica Day (or Columbus Day)November 19Garifuna Settlement Day25 DecemberChristmas...

Language & Phrasebook in Belize

As a former British colony, the official language of Belize is Standard English with British spelling rules, which distinguishes Belize from its Spanish-speaking neighbours.Spanish, Garifuna (Carib) and the Mayan languages/dialects Kekchi, Mopan and Yucatec are spoken in different parts of the country. In the north and west of the...

Internet & Communications in Belize

Phone boxes are the most common public telephones and accept pre-purchased phone cards.Internet cafés exist in larger tourist areas, but are not common in rural areas.Previously, the government did not allow Skype and forced tourists to use their own public phone company to call out of the country. In...

Culture Of Belize

In Belizean folklore there are the legends of Lang Bobi Suzi, La Llorona, La Sucia, Luguchu Ellis, Tata Duende, Chatona, X'tabai, Anansi, and the Cadejo.Most holidays in Belize are traditional Commonwealth and Christian holidays, although some are specific to Belizean culture, such as Garifuna Settlement Day and Baron Bliss...

Stay Safe & Healthy in Belize

Stay Safe in BelizeBelize City is the most dangerous area in Belize, although it is very easy to be safe. Stay in the tourist area that stretches north of the marina to the southern extension east of the main channel. There are many khaki tourist police officers patrolling the...

Asia

Africa

South America

Europe

North America

Most Popular