Friday, September 10, 2021

Destinations in Barbados

North AmericaBarbadosDestinations in Barbados

Regions in Barbados

There are eleven parishes on the island of Barbados, which can be usefully divided into four regions:

  • Bridgetown
    The capital of Barbados and its surroundings in the parish of Saint Michael.
  • East Central Barbados
    The parishes of Saint Andrew, Saint George, Saint John, Saint Joseph and Saint Thomas. The east coast is the rugged Atlantic side of the island.
  • Western Barbados
    The quiet part of the island, washed by the Caribbean Sea, comprises the parishes of St James, St Peter and St Lucy. Holetown and Speightstown are the two main towns.
  • Southern Barbados
    Christ Church and St Thomas’ parishes. These include St Lawrence Gap, a lively area full of bars and restaurants, Oistins and Grantley Adams International Airport.