Saturday, September 18, 2021

Visa & Passport Requirements for Turkey

EuropeTurkeyVisa & Passport Requirements for Turkey

Turkey is one of only three countries in the Middle East that tolerate Israeli citizens in their country. Thus, entry into Turkey is not a problem for holders of an Israeli passport.


Citizens of the countries listed below can enter Turkey without a visa for 90 days, unless otherwise stated: Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Azerbaijan (30 days), Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina (60 days), Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica (30 days), Czech Republic, Northern Cyprus (Turkish Republic), Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, Hong Kong (SAR passport), Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan (30 days), Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan (30 days), Latvia (30 days), Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao (30 days), Macedonia, Malaysia, Moldova (30 days), Monaco, Mongolia (30 days), Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Romania, Russia (60 days), San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan (30 days), Thailand (30 days), Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan (30 days), Ukraine (60 days), Uruguay, Uzbekistan (30 days), Vatican City and Venezuela.

German and French nationals do not need a visa for stays of less than 90 days and can even enter with their identity card or an expired passport/identity card, unless they enter at land border crossings that do not fall under the jurisdiction of the Council of Europe (e.g. from Iran, Iraq and Syria).

Citizens of the following countries can apply for a tourist visa online. Electronic visas cost between USD 15 and USD 60 depending on the passport (for most EU countries: USD 20, for USA/Canada/Australia: USD 60), plus a service fee of USD 0.70. According to the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, visitors entering Turkey without a visa can obtain their e-visa through interactive terminals at Turkish airports, but the fee is higher than for the online e-visa (usually USD 10 more than for the e-visa). Some airlines have already turned away passengers without eVisa (Pegasus, Italy, June 2014).

Valid for three months: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Haiti, Hong Kong (BNO passport), Ireland, Jamaica, Kuwait, Maldives, Malta (free of charge), Mexico (with valid Schengen, UK visa, Canada, Japan, the United States or Canada), the Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Spain, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, United Arab Emirates and the United States of America. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

Valid for two months: Belarus

Valid for one month: Armenia, Bahrain, Bangladesh (with valid Schengen, Irish, UK or US visa), Republic of Cyprus, Hungary, India (with valid Schengen, Irish, UK or US visa), Indonesia, Mauritius, Moldova, Pakistan (with valid Schengen, Irish, UK or US visa), Philippines if you have a valid Schengen or OECD visa or residence permit, Slovakia, South Africa.
(NOTE: Payments in sterling may only be made in Bank of England £10 notes. No Scottish or Northern Irish notes and no other denominations, e.g. £5 or £20 or £50).

For more information, please visit the website of the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs.