Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Visa & Passport Requirements for Norway

EuropeNorwayVisa & Passport Requirements for Norway

Norway is a signatory to the Schengen Agreement.

Border restrictions are usually not required between nations that have signed and implemented the pact. This covers the majority of the European Union as well as a few additional nations. Before boarding foreign planes or boats, passengers’ identities are typically checked. Temporary border restrictions are sometimes used at land boundaries. A visa issued to any Schengen member is also valid in all other countries that have signed and implemented the treaty.
There is still an identification check required before boarding planes or boats entering Norway. Russians who live within 30 kilometers of the border may enter Norway visa-free for up to 15 days if they have lived in the border region for at least three years and do not travel more than 30 kilometers from the border. A border certificate valid for multiple entries must be acquired in advance from the Norwegian embassy in Murmansk.

Citizens of Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela, and holders of Hong Kong SAR or Macau SAR passports may travel. This right to work without a visa, however, does not necessarily apply to other Schengen nations.

Keep in mind that Norway is not a member of the European Union. This implies that all visitors to Norway, regardless of their country of origin, may be subject to customs checks at the port of entry.

Minimum validity of travel documents

EU, EEA, and Swiss nationals, as well as non-EU citizens who are visa-free (e.g., New Zealanders and Australians), need simply show a passport valid for the duration of their stay in Norway.

Other nations who need a visa (for example, South Africans) must have a passport that is valid for at least three months beyond their stay in Norway in order to be granted a Schengen visa.