Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Destinations in Luxembourg

EuropeLuxembourgDestinations in Luxembourg

Regions in Luxembourg

Luxembourg is split into three administrative districts, each of which has 12 cantons and 106 communes.

  • Diekirch District (Diekirch, Clervaux, Ettelbruck and Vianden)
  • Grevenmacher District (Grevenmacher, Echternach, Mertert, Remich and Schengen)
  • Luxembourg District (Luxembourg, Esch-sur-Alzette and Mersch)

Cities in Luxembourg

  • Luxembourg is the Grand Duchy’s capital.
  • Clervaux
  • Colmar-Berg – Berg Castle, the main home of the Grand Duke of Luxembourg, is located in this little town.
  • Diekirch is the location of a World War II museum dedicated to the Battle of the Bulge.
  • Echternach
  • Ettelbruck
  • Esch-sur-Alzette
  • Mertert
  • Mondorf-les-Bains – On the Luxembourg-France border, there is a spa town with a gaming “Casino.”
  • Remich – Promenades along the Moselle are popular.
  • Schengen – renowned for the treaty signed there, the site was most likely selected because of its proximity to both the French and German borders, as well as its natural beauty.
  • Vianden – A charming little village dominated by a magnificent château.

Other destinations in Luxembourg

Because of its magnificent wooded slopes, the Mullerthal, also known as Luxembourg’s Little Switzerland, is a popular hiking, cycling, and photography destination.