Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Visa & Passport Requirements for Ireland

EuropeIrelandVisa & Passport Requirements for Ireland

Ireland is a member of the EU, but not of the Schengen Zone. As a result, different immigration restrictions are in place. The following are some basic guidelines:

For entrance or employment, citizens of EU and EEA nations (and Switzerland) simply need a valid national identification card or passport; in many instances, they have unrestricted work and residency rights in Ireland.

Citizens of Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominica, El Salvador, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong SAR, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Lesotho, Macao SAR, Malawi, Malaysia, the Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, the Seychelles, Singapore, the Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Swaziland, Taiwan, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, the United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, the Vatican City and Venezuela, plus British Nationals (Overseas), require valid passports for entry, but they do not need visas for stays not exceeding three months in length.The length of stay is decided by the Immigration Officer at the port of entry, although it may be extended up to 90 days if necessary. Foreigners who enter without a visa may extend their stay once they arrive, as long as they do so within the original admission term and for a legitimate reason. Visas are usually required in advance for longer visits, work, and residents of other countries.

Citizens of other countries should consult the Irish Department of Foreign Affairs’ visa listings. The tourist visa application procedure is very simple and documented on the Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service website. Tourist visas cannot be renewed for more than 90 days under any circumstances.

There are no passport restrictions for inhabitants of these nations traveling to Ireland from any of these countries because of an informal arrangement known as The Common Travel Area between Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Jersey, Sark, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. However, if you arrive at an Irish airport from the United Kingdom, you will be required to produce acceptable official picture identification, such as a passport or driver’s license, that demonstrates your nationality. This is to demonstrate that you are eligible to use the Common Travel Area. Immigration checks are required on all incoming aircraft, are selective on ferries, and are only done on rare occasions at land border crossings.