Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Visa & Passport Requirements for Georgia

EuropeGeorgiaVisa & Passport Requirements for Georgia

All visa-free nationalities may remain for a maximum of one year. African and Asian nationalities (with the exception of East Timor) are granted multiple-entry visas valid for 30 days during a 120-day period. For others, the visa is valid for 90 days out of a total of 180 days.

Nationals of the following countries and territories are not required to get a visa to visit Georgia for a period of one year (unless otherwise noted): Every European Union citizen (may also enter using ID card) Albania Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bermuda, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile (90 days), Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Honduras, Iceland, Iran(45 days), Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Panama, Qatar, Russia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey(may also enter using ID card), Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay (90 days), Uzbekistan, Vatican City.

Online visa

If you are not a citizen of one of the following countries, you may acquire a visa online via the e-Visa site without visiting a Georgian diplomatic post or consulate. The usual cost for a 90-day, single-entry “regular” tourist visa is 60 GEL or its equivalent. Double-entry 90-day visas (available exclusively at consulates) cost 90 GEL.

Visas are also granted at Georgia’s official road and air (but not rail or sea) entry ports. Issuing processes are very simple and can usually be finished in a matter of minutes at Georgian entrance ports, but consulates take a few days for processing.

Nationals of Nauru, Nicaragua, Syria, and Venezuela are ineligible for an internet visa and should instead visit a Georgian embassy or consulate. However, if they have a visa or a resident permit from one of the countries listed above, they do not require a visa for a stay of up to 90 days in a 180-day period, as long as they present their visa/residence permit at the border.

Holders of EU/EFTA/Gulf Cooperation Council visas or residency permits, territories of EU nations, the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, or Israel do not need a visa for up to 90 days in a 180-day period. On arriving in Georgia, the visa/residence permit must be valid.

The border police do not always enforce the stated regulations governing visas and entry. For example, certain border crossings that advertise visa-on-arrival may not really provide any (for example, the Sadakhlo/Bagratashen road border point). Furthermore, if you need a visa to enter Georgia and plan to buy one on arrival (as is officially possible), be aware that there are no ATMs at some border checkpoints (e.g., Sarpi) and that if you cannot change money into Lari (e.g., no bank, or bank closed) and do not have any Lari with you, you will be denied entry; thus, it is highly preferable to ask for a visa ahead of time. Finally, although EU nationals may enter with their national identification card, border guards (particularly at land crossings) are often unfamiliar with them and will do a far more comprehensive examination.

Border crossings

The following are Georgia’s international entrance and exit points. Visas are only offered at road and air entry ports for individuals who need them.

  • Batumi International airport (visas available) and Black Sea port (visas not available).
  • Böyük Kəsik Rail border with Azerbaijan – visas not available here.
  • Guguti/Tashir Road border with Armenia.
  • Krasny Most (Red Bridge, Tsiteli Khidi, Qırmızı Körpü) Road border with Azerbaijan.
  • Ninotsminda/Bavra Road border with Armenia.
  • Poti Black Sea port – visas not available here.
  • Sadakhlo/Bagratashen Road and rail border with Armenia – visas available for road travellers only.
  • Sarpi/Sarp Road border with Turkey.
  • Tbilisi International airport.
  • Tsodna (Postbina) Road border with Azerbaijan, between Lagodekhi and Balakən.
  • Vale/Posof Road border with Turkey, reached via Akhaltsikhe.

For many years, the border with Russia at Zemo Larsi/Chertov Most, north of Kazbegi, was only accessible to Georgians and Russians, until 2006, when Russia blocked it to everyone (“temporarily”). Verkhniy Lars (ерни арc) is the only open border crossing point with Russia. It does not provide visas.

Georgia considers the crossings from Russia into South Ossetia (the Roki Tunnel) and Abkhazia (the Psou River between Gantiadi and Adler) to be unlawful. Some visitors who proceeded into Georgia after crossing into South Ossetia or Abkhazia from Russia have been fined or imprisoned. Others have gotten away with no trouble.

It is feasible to visit Abkhazia from Georgia, however it is not possible to visit South Ossetia from Georgia.