Saturday, September 18, 2021

Destinations in Cyprus

EuropeCyprusDestinations in Cyprus

Regions in Cyprus

Cyprus is split into six administrative areas, each of which is named after its administrative capital. The whole Kyrenia district, the majority of Famagusta district, and the northern part of Nicosia district have been under Turkish military rule since 1974. Those regions are administered by the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. The Republic of Cyprus is responsible for the following districts: Larnaca,Famagusta, Limassol, Nicosia, Paphos, Akrotiri, and Dhekelia.

British sovereign territories mainly used for military purposes. There isn’t much to see and do here, although it’s quite close to the Republic of Cyprus districts.

Cities in Cyprus

It’s interesting to note that Cypriot towns have a number of historical spellings and writings, all of which are quite frequent and vary depending on the situation, whether it’s Greek Cypriot, Turkish, or English tourist. The following list highlights conventional English spellings that the tourist would most likely encounter.

  • Nicosia (also Lefkosia in Greek, Lefkoşa in Turkish) – the divided capital
  • Ayia Napa Ayia Napa
  • Larnaca Larnaka
  • Limassol (Lemesos in Greek, Limasol in Turkish)
  • Paphos (Pafos in Greek, Baf in Turkish)

Other destinations in Cyprus

  • Akamas Peninsula
  • Ayia Napa – located in the extreme east of the Republic, Ayia Napa is often regarded as Cyprus’s major party destination.
  • Troodos Mountains
  • Lefkara The Lace town is located in the foothills of the Troodos Mountains and is a beautiful small town with a lot of character in the heart of Cyprus.