Saturday, September 18, 2021

Destinations in Croatia

EuropeCroatiaDestinations in Croatia

Regions in Croatia

There are three different areas in Croatia: lowland Croatia (cr: Nizinska Hrvatska), coastal Croatia (Primorska Hrvatska) and mountain Croatia (Gorska Hrvatska), which can be divided into five travel regions:

  • Istria (Istra)
    A peninsula in the northwest bordering Slovenia
  • Kvarner
    The coastline and highlands north of Dalmatia comprise sub-regions: Kvarner Bay and Highlands (Lika and Gorski Kotar)
  • Dalmatia (Dalmacija)
    A strip of mainland and islands between the Mediterranean and Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Slavonia (Slavonija)
    Including the sub-regions of Slavonija and Baranja (north of the Drava), a north-eastern area of forests and fields bordering Hungary, Serbia and Bosnia and Herzegovina.
  • Central Croatia (Središnja Hrvatska)
    North-central highlands, location of Zagreb

Cities in Croatia

  • Zagreb – the capital and largest city
  • Dubrovnik – historic coastal city and UNESCO World Heritage Site
  • Split – ancient port city with Roman ruins
  • Pula – the largest city in Istria with the Roman amphitheatre (commonly called the Arena).
  • Osijek – capital of Slavonia and an important city
  • Sisak – largest river port, city on three rivers and the city that stopped the spread of the Turks in Europe in 1593, formerly Siscia.
  • Slavonski Brod – once an important star in the Ottoman defence line
  • Rijeka – the largest and most important port in Croatia
  • Varaždin – the former baroque capital of Croatia
  • Zadar – the largest city in north-central Dalmatia, rich in history

Other destinations in Croatia

  • Krka National Park – River Valley near Šibenik
  • Island of Cres
  • Island Hvar
  • Island Brač
  • Island Krk
  • Island Šolta
  • Makarska on the Makarska Riviera
  • Plitvice Lakes National Park
  • Žumberak – a mountainous region stretching from the border between Slovenia and Croatia