Friday, September 10, 2021

Destinations in Kiribati

Australia and OceaniaKiribatiDestinations in Kiribati

Regions in Kiribati

With the exception of Banaba (Ocean Island – 6km2, population c. 300), all of the major islands are divided into three groups: the Gilbert Islands, the Line Islands, and the Phoenix Islands.

Gilbert Islands
The western island chain, which includes Tarawa, is home to the overwhelming majority of Kiribati’s people.

Line Islands
The most remote islands, with inhabitants on Kirimati (Christmas Island), Tabuaeran, and Teraina in the north.

Phoenix Islands
With the exception of a few households on Kanton, the island is almost entirely deserted.