Friday, September 10, 2021

Destinations in Fiji

Australia and OceaniaFijiDestinations in Fiji

Regions in Fiji

Fiji can be divided into nine island groups:

  • Viti Levu
    It is the largest and most important island in the country. It has the largest population, is economically the most developed and is home to the capital Suva.
  • Vanua Levu
    The second largest island, surrounded by a few small islands in the north.
  • Taveuni
    The third largest island, near Vanua Levu, with the 180th meridian cutting the island in half. It is the exclusive habitat of the Tagimoucia flower.
  • Kadavu
    This island is located south of Viti Levu.
  • Yasawa Islands
    Popular north-western archipelago for island shopping holidays.
  • Mamanuca Islands
    A group of small islands west of Viti Levu.
  • Lomaiviti Islands
    The central group of islands between Viti Levu and the Lau Group.
  • Lau Islands
    A group of many small islands in eastern Fiji.
  • Rotuma
    Remote dependency of Fiji, home to another Polynesian ethnic group.

Cities in Fiji

  • Suva – the capital
  • Lautoka
  • Levuka
  • Nadi (pronounced: “Nandi”)
  • Nausori
  • Taveuni