Saturday, September 18, 2021

Destinations in Sri Lanka

AsiaSri LankaDestinations in Sri Lanka

Regions in Sri Lanka

Officially, Sri Lanka is split into nine administrative provinces:

Central Province (Kandy, Matale, Nuwara Eliya, Sigiriya, Dambulla)
Because of its hilly topography, it is known as the “hill country.”

Northern Province (Jaffna, Kilinochchi, Vanni, Mannar)
Home to the Tamil-speaking people of the nation. After being devastated by war, it is being restored.

North Central Province (Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa)
Sri Lanka’s ancient kingdoms date back over 2500 years. The region is known as the cultural triangle because it is rich in history.

Eastern Province (Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Arugam Bay)
Trincomalee has a unique natural harbour and kilometers of sandy beaches. Surfers’ haven.

North Western Province (Kurunegala, Puttalam, Chilaw)
Plantations of coconuts, dolphin viewing, and salt manufacturing

Sabaragamuwa (Ratnapura)
Sabaragamuwa (Ratnapura) is Sri Lanka’s gem mining capital.

Southern Province (Galle, Weligama, Matara, Tangalle, Unawatuna, Hambantota, Yala National Park)
There are many beach resorts to choose from.

Uva (Badulla, Haputale, Bandarawela)
Highlands. tea, tea, and even more tea

Western Province (Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte, Beruwela, Colombo, Gampaha, Negombo)
The capital as well as the commuter belt.

Cities in Sri Lanka

  • Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte is Sri Lanka’s new capital.
  • Anuradhapura – historic capital ruins (partially restored). Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Batticaloa is known as the “Land of Singing Fish.” Beautiful shallow beaches, paddy farms, and historical sites are all available.
  • Colombo is Sri Lanka’s commercial capital and biggest city. Hotels, cafés, restaurants, nightclubs, and shopping are all available.
  • Galle is a well-known Dutch fort. Galle Literary Festival is held in this city. Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Jaffna is the northernmost capital. The rich history of the Tamil-speaking minority is on exhibit.
  • Kandy is the spiritual center of the nation and the location of the Buddha’s tooth. Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Negombo has a lovely scenery and clear blue seas.
  • Nuwara Eliya is known as “Little England.” On racing days, expect cool temperatures, Victorian architecture, and top hats, tails, and fascinators.

Other destinations in Sri Lanka

  • Arugam Bay is a seaside town on the southeast coast of India with many world-class surfing locations.
  • Dambulla – A historic city with fantastic hotels near to Sigiriya. Both have been designated as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
  • Horton Plains – A cloud forest in the central highlands with numerous endangered species of wildlife and plants and infinite hiking opportunities.
  • Kitulgala is a four-hour drive from Colombo and is renowned for its beautiful environment, adventure seekers, and white-water rafting.
  • Mirissa is a seaside town on the south coast near Matara with two excellent surfing locations.
  • Pasikudah is a well-known beach resort in Sri Lanka’s east, featuring white beaches and expensive hotels.
  • Sinharaja Forest Reserve is a World Heritage Site designated by UNESCO.
  • Unawatuna is a beach resort on the south coast of Sri Lanka, near to Galle.
  • Yala National Park offers a wildlife safari.