Visa & Passport Requirements for Malaysia

AsiaMalaysiaVisa & Passport Requirements for Malaysia
Visa restrictions
Citizens of Israel with Israeli passports will be denied entry unless they have a letter of approval from the Malaysian Ministry of Home Affairs. In addition, Israeli nationals need an onward travel ticket and are asked to buy one or they will be denied entry. Malaysia no longer cares about the passports of other nationals who have entry stamps and/or visas from Israel.

Most nationalities can enter Malaysia without a visa and stay in Malaysia for between 14 and 90 days, depending on their nationality. For up-to-date information on visa requirements and length of stay, contact the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. When travelling to the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak, note that both states maintain their own immigration systems and separate checks, so Malaysians from other states will also need a passport or MyKad on entry.

Those wishing to enter Malaysia for purposes other than a social or business visit will still need a visa for any period (except for US citizens entering for study purposes), but see here for “loopholes”.

Those who need a visa to enter Malaysia may be able to apply at a British embassy, high commission or consulate in their own country if there is no Malaysian diplomatic mission. For example, British embassies in Belgrade, Guatemala City, Pristina and Sofia accept visa applications for Malaysia (this list is not exhaustive). British diplomatic missions charge £50 for processing a Malaysian visa application and an additional £70 if the authorities in Malaysia require the visa application to be forwarded to them. The authorities in Malaysia may also decide to charge an additional fee if they correspond directly with the applicant.

Overstaying the visa will result in a fine of US$10, €7.50 or RM30 per day. However, it is relatively easy to avoid overstaying the visa by making a “visa run” to a neighbouring country by land or cheap flight. Malaysia may also impose caning as a penalty for overstaying the visa.

Transit visa

Although citizens of Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka normally require a visa, they can transit for up to 120 hours at the same airport, provided they arrive and depart on the same airline, land in Kuala Lumpur, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching, Penang or Senai (near Johor Bahru) and present a genuine air ticket.

Fingerprinting at immigration

- Advertisement -

Malaysian immigration authorities have recently started taking fingerprints from visitors entering and leaving the country. These fingerprints may well find their way to the authorities of other countries or other non-governmental agencies.