Friday, September 10, 2021

Destinations in Malaysia

AsiaMalaysiaDestinations in Malaysia

Regions in Malaysia

Malaysia is divided into two main geographical regions commonly known as Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia.

Peninsula Malaysia

  • West Coast (Kedah, Kuala Lumpur, Malacca, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Perak, Perlis, Putrajaya, Selangor).
    The more developed region with the modern capital Kuala Lumpur, UNESCO World Heritage Cities with colonial flair and the Langkawi archipelago.
  • East Coast (Kelantan, Pahang, Terengganu).
    The more traditional Muslim region, home to Taman Negara (national park), numerous pristine islands and the jungle track that winds through the rural hinterland.
  • South (Johor)
    Consisting of only one state, two coastlines, endless palm oil plantations and the gateway to Singapore by land

East Malaysia

  • Sabah
    Excellent diving on Sipadan Island as well as muck diving in Mabul, nature reserves, the federal enclave of Labuan and the mighty Mount Kinabalu.
  • Sarawak
    The southern state of East Malaysia. Home to traditional longhouses, lush jungles and national parks in contrast to the state capital Kuching.

Cities in Malaysia

  • Kuala Lumpur – the multicultural capital, home of the Petronas Twin Towers
  • George Town – the cultural and culinary capital of Penang
  • Ipoh – capital of Perak with historic colonial old town
  • Johor Bahru – capital and former royal capital of Johor, and gateway to Singapore
  • Kuantan – capital of Pahang, and commercial centre of the east coast
  • Kota Kinabalu – near tropical islands, lush rainforest and Mount Kinabalu
  • Kuching – Capital of Sarawak
  • Malacca (Malay: Melaka) – the historic city of Malaysia with colonial-style architecture.
  • Miri – resort in Sarawak, near the border with Brunei and gateway to the UNESCO World Heritage Site, Gunung Mulu National Park.

Other destinations in Malaysia

  • Cameron Highlands – famous for its tea plantations
  • Fraser’s Hill – a journey back in time to the colonial era
  • Kinabalu National Park – home of Mount Kinabalu, the highest mountain in Southeast Asia
  • Langkawi – an archipelago of 99 islands known for its beaches, rainforests, mountains, mangrove estuaries and unique nature. It is also a duty-free island
  • Penang (Pulau Pinang) – once known as the “Pearl of the Orient”, now bustling island with excellent cuisine that retains more colonial heritage than anywhere else in the country
  • Perhentian Islands (Pulau Perhentian) – glittering jewels off the east coast, still undiscovered by mass tourism
  • Redang (Pulau Redang) – popular island destination for divers
  • Taman Negara – a large area of rainforest national park stretching across Kelantan, Pahang and Terengganu.
  • Tioman (Pulau Tioman) – once voted one of the most beautiful islands in the world