Saturday, September 18, 2021

Visa & Passport Requirements for Uganda

AfricaUgandaVisa & Passport Requirements for Uganda

Ugandan visas are now available online at, as well as in embassies and high commissions across the country. The Uganda Visa Policy is based on the reciprocity principle, which means that all countries that need visas for Ugandans also require visas for Ugandans.

Fees for visas will begin on July 22nd, 2016. USD50 for a single entry valid for 90 days. Inland transportation costs $50. East Africa is a continent in East Africa. USD100 for a 90-day multiple-entry tourist visa.

Because multiple entry visas are expensive and must be obtained from Uganda’s diplomatic missions abroad, genuine tourists may want to consider the East Africa Tourist Visa, which was announced in January 2014 and first issued in March 2014, and allows for multiple entries in a 90-day period for USD100 and has no “country of origin restrictions.” This visa is available for purchase online (or when you get to Kenya or Rwanda if that is your first port). However, because some picky airlines may refuse to board you without proof of a visa, Rwanda has wisely set up an online website to issue them. This means that some tourists may prefer to fly into Kigali, Rwanda’s capital, rather than Entebbe or Nairobi, because the visa must be issued by the country you first intend to visit (similar principle to Schengen visas in the EU).

Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Comoros, Cyprus, Eritrea, Fiji, Gambia, Grenada, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Malta, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Vanuatu, Zambia, and Zimbabwe are among the countries that do not require visas.

Visa extension

At immigration offices in Kampala, Fort Portal, Jinja, and Mbarara, you may obtain a free one-month visa extension. However, you can only obtain a visa extension on a 90-day single entry Uganda visa, not on a 90-day East African tourist visa.