Saturday, September 18, 2021

Destinations in Libya

AfricaLibyaDestinations in Libya

Regions in Libya

Cyrenaica (Benghazi, Shahhat, Tobruk) is the Mediterranean Sea’s north-eastern area.

Saharan Libya (Gaberoun, Ghadamis, Sabha, Ghat) is a vast southern desert area with spectacular landscape and some of the world’s highest temperatures.

Tripolitania (Tripoli, Gharyan, Misratah, Surt, Zuwara) is a northwestern Mediterranean area containing historic Roman remains and the capital city of Tripoli.

Cities in Libya

  • Tripoli – the capital
  • Benghazi
  • Gharyan
  • Ghadamis
  • Sabha
  • Shahhat— Ancient city of Cyrene, a World Heritage site, is nearby
  • Surt
  • Tobruk
  • Zuwara

Other destinations in Libya

  • Ghat – Ghat is a prehistoric village in the southwest featuring prehistoric rock art and some of the most difficult desert hiking in the world.
  • Green Mountain
  • Leptis Magna — Leptis Magna is a large Roman ruins site.
  • Nafusa mountains