Samedi, mai 28, 2022

Comment voyager autour du Lesotho

AfriqueLesothoComment voyager autour du Lesotho

Lire la suite

En taxi régulier

Les taxis réguliers (vous appelez, ils viennent) et les 4+1 — ont une bande jaune sur le côté et peuvent accueillir quatre personnes. Avant de monter dans un taxi, vérifiez toujours le prix.

Téléphonez au +266 627 45199 pour Khosana chez Comfort Taxis ou au +266 631 66000 pour Perfect Taxis – bien géré et détenu en partie par un expatrié anglais. Appelez le +266 584 01360 pour un local avec un beau véhicule et une réputation de fiabilité. Appelez-le Tom Taxi, et il saura que vous êtes authentique et saura où obtenir les meilleurs tarifs.

En minibus taxi

Le minibus 'taxi' (appelé combi/Toyota Hiace) est le mode de transport public dans une grande partie de l'Afrique.

Assurez-vous de comprendre où se dirige le minibus (il devrait y avoir un panneau sur le pare-brise avant); au bout d'une minute ou deux, on vous demandera de l'argent, qui vous sera remis par le minibus. Pour plus d'espace pour les jambes, essayez d'obtenir le siège avant près du conducteur. Le gouvernement fixe les prix. Il y a un danger de surcharger les étrangers; si vous n'êtes pas sûr du prix, demandez aux autres passagers. Sachez que la raison pour laquelle les taxis Minibus sont si bon marché est qu'ils peuvent entasser autant de passagers ! Ne soyez pas choqué si vous voyez des jeunes assis quatre ou cinq sur leurs genoux, ou si on vous demande d'avoir d'énormes quantités de bagages sur vos genoux ou coincés autour de vous. Les taxis minibus sont souvent mal entretenus et non assurés. Cependant, les accidents de taxi sont très rares.

Les trajets en taxi interurbains ne vous coûteront pas plus de 50 LSL pour un aller simple, tandis que les trajets en taxi en minibus dans le centre-ville vous coûteront environ 2.50 LSL (4+1 vous coûteront 20 LSL pour l'ensemble du véhicule, quel que soit le nombre de personnes qui vous accompagnent. , à condition que vous soyez dans une ville.)

Avant de monter dans un taxi, vérifiez toujours le prix.

Trouver un taxi

Lorsque vous arriverez dans l'une des grandes villes, vous verrez que tous les minibus klaxonnent, indiquant qu'il y a de la place pour des passagers supplémentaires. Au premier coup de grêle, faites simplement signe à un taxi qui s'approche ; le conducteur (qui se penchera généralement par la fenêtre du côté trottoir de la camionnette) criera généralement la destination du taxi. Que vous ne sachiez pas s'il vous emmènera où vous voulez aller, renseignez-vous avant d'embarquer !

Sur Moeshoeshoe Road à Maseru, fermez le Shoprite à côté de The Circle / Cathedral, il y a un endroit nommé Setopong. C'est de là que partent tous les taxis minibus, alors allez-y si vous avez besoin d'un taxi hors de la ville. C'est néanmoins un quartier très fréquenté et animé avec beaucoup de monde. Il est préférable de prendre un taxi 4+1 pour Setopong et de demander au chauffeur de vous déposer près des taxis qui se rendent dans la zone que vous souhaitez voir.

en voiture

Il est également possible de louer un véhicule et d'explorer la région. Les hôtels Sun à Maseru, ainsi que l'aéroport, proposent des services de location de voitures. Si vous louez un véhicule en Afrique du Sud (ce qui est susceptible d'être moins cher que de louer au Lesotho), assurez-vous d'avoir l'autorisation de le conduire au Lesotho (l'assurance de la voiture de location peut ne pas couvrir le Lesotho).

Mais ce n'est rien comparé au fait de se lever et de parler avec les locaux et de parler avec eux !

Les principales attractions du Lesotho n'ont pas besoin d'un 4×4 ; pour le touriste typique, seul le trajet vers Semonkong en nécessite un. La route a été goudronnée de Maseru à Mokhotlong (en passant par Leribe) et est maintenant goudronnée jusqu'à Qacha's Nek. Certaines routes secondaires dans les villes ne sont pas goudronnées, mais vous pouvez vous déplacer dans un saloon. Si vous vous rendez dans les hautes terres sur des routes non goudronnées (par exemple vers la mine de diamants de Kao), un 4 × 4 est nécessaire. Il en va de même pour Thaba Tseka et la montée ou la descente du col de Sani.

Lorsque vous conduisez la nuit, ce n'est pas une bonne idée de s'arrêter aux intersections ou aux feux de circulation car il y a une petite possibilité que quelque chose de mal se produise.

Comment voyager au Lesotho

En avionMaseru est à 18 kilomètres de l'aéroport de Moshoeshoe. Des vols quotidiens entre Maseru et Johannesburg sont opérés par South African Airways et Airlink, avec des tarifs moyens d'environ 1,400 XNUMX ZAR. Les bagages sont souvent égarés et il n'existe aucun mécanisme pour signaler les bagages manquants. Vous devriez planifier une prise en charge en taxi à l'avance...

Exigences de visa et de passeport pour le Lesotho

Les pays/territoires suivants n'ont pas besoin de visa pour entrer au Lesotho : Jusqu'à 90 jours : Antigua-et-Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbade, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Cameroun, Dominique, Fidji, Gambie, Grenade, Guyana, Hong Kong SAR, Irlande, Israël, Jamaïque, Japon, Kenya, Kiribati, Malawi, Malaisie, Maldives, Maurice, Monaco, Namibie, Nauru, Corée du Nord, Papouasie Nouvelle...

Destinations au Lesotho

Villes du LesothoMaseru — la capitaleHlotse (également connue sous le nom de Leribe) — plaque tournante du marché régional, avec de superbes boutiques d'artisanat ! LesothoAfriski — En hiver (juin-septembre), ski et montagne...

À voir au Lesotho

Chutes de Semonkong — Ces chutes près de Semonkong chutent de 200 mètres en un seul bond ! En été, vous pouvez nager dans l'étang en contrebas, et en hiver, l'étang gèle, formant une cage de glace autour des chutes. Barrage de Katse - un barrage imposant de 185 mètres dans une petite vallée Empreintes de dinosaures - Là...

Activités au Lesotho

Randonnée à poney, en particulier à Malealea, Semonkong ou au Basotho Pony-Trekking Center - que vous soyez un cavalier chevronné ou un débutant, la randonnée à poney est un moyen fantastique d'explorer la campagne du Lesotho ! Ces excursions planifiées vous permettent de visiter des régions du pays que vous ne pourriez pas voir...

Argent et shopping au Lesotho

Maseru possède de nombreux magasins de style occidental où vous pouvez faire le plein de marchandises avant d'aller plus loin dans le pays. Si vous recherchez des produits et de l'artisanat fabriqués localement, évitez Maseru et rendez-vous à TY ou Hlotse, où les marchés sont bien meilleurs et moins chers. . Chapeaux traditionnels Basotho (Mokorotlo), bâtons (molamo), tapis,...

Internet et communications au Lesotho

Il existe de nombreux cybercafés à Maseru, et bien qu'ils soient à un prix raisonnable (environ 0.20 à 0.50 LSL par minute), ils sont au mieux lents. Le réseau mobile est adéquat dans les villes mais déplorable à la campagne. Vodafone est le seul réseau de téléphonie mobile britannique à avoir conclu un accord d'itinérance. Le Lesotho a deux...

Traditions & Coutumes au Lesotho

Avant de visiter le Lesotho, essayez d'apprendre quelques termes sesotho. Les locaux apprécient un étranger qui a pris le temps d'apprendre leur langue. Adressez-vous toujours à un aîné ou à une personne de meilleur statut social comme N'tate (homme) ou M'e (femme). Bonjour est Lumela (prononcé due-mela). En conséquence, direz-vous...

Culture du Lesotho

Les instruments de musique traditionnels comprennent le lekolulo, une sorte de flûte utilisée par les bergers, le setolo-tolo, un instrument à bouche joué par les hommes, et le thomo à cordes interprété par les femmes. L'hymne national du Lesotho est "Lesotho Fate La Bo-ntata Rona". qui se traduit par "Lesotho, terre de nos ancêtres." La forme traditionnelle d'habitation du Lesotho...

Histoire du Lesotho

Les San étaient les occupants indigènes de ce qui est maintenant le Lesotho. Des exemples de leur art rupestre peuvent être vus à travers les montagnes de la région. En 1822, le roi Moshoeshoe I a établi l'actuel Lesotho, alors connu sous le nom de Basutoland, en un seul État. Moshoeshoe, le fils de Mokhachane, un mineur de la lignée Bakoteli...

Restez en sécurité et en bonne santé au Lesotho

Il est dangereux de se promener seul à Maseru. Les conversations amicales avec les habitants peuvent se transformer en appels d'argent déguisés, comme ils le font à peu près partout ailleurs dans le monde - adhérez à vos convictions et ne faites un don qu'à des organisations reconnues. la norme - pas...

Asie

Afrique

Europe

PLUS POPULAIRE

Friday, September 30, 2022

How To Travel Around Lesotho

AfricaLesothoHow To Travel Around Lesotho

Read next

By regular taxi

Regular taxis (you call, they come) and 4+1s — have a yellow stripe down the side and can accommodate four people. Before you get into a cab, always verify the price.

Phone +266 627 45199 for Khosana at Comfort Taxis or +266 631 66000 for Perfect Taxis – well-run and partially owned by an English expat. Call +266 584 01360 for a local with a nice vehicle and a reputation for dependability. Call him Tom Taxi, and he’ll know you’re genuine and know where to get the best rates.

By minibus taxi

The minibus ‘taxi’ (called combi / Toyota Hiace) is the mode of public transportation in much of Africa.

Make sure you understand where the minibus is heading (there should be a sign on the front windshield); after a minute or two, you’ll be asked for money, which will be handed down the minibus. For greater leg space, try to obtain the front seat near the driver. The government sets the prices. There is a danger of overcharging foreigners; if you are unsure about the price, ask the other passengers. Be aware that the reason Minibus taxis are so inexpensive is because they can cram so many passengers in! Don’t be shocked if you see youngsters sitting four or five high on their laps, or if you’re instructed to have huge quantities of baggage on your lap or jammed in around you. Minibus taxis are often badly maintained and uninsured. However, cab accidents are very rare.

Intercity taxi trips will cost you no more than LSL50 for an one way ticket, while inner city minibus taxi journeys will cost you about LSL2.50 (4+1s will cost you LSL20 for the whole vehicle, regardless of how many people are accompanying you, providing you are inside a city.)

Before you get into a cab, always verify the price.

Finding a taxi

When you arrive in one of the major cities, you’ll see that all of the minibuses are honking their horns, indicating that there is room for additional passengers. At hail one, just gesture to a taxi as it approaches; the conductor (who will typically be leaning out of the van’s kerbside window) will usually be yelling the taxi’s destination. Whether you’re not sure if it’ll take you where you want to go, inquire before boarding!

On Moeshoeshoe Road in Maseru, close the Shoprite beside The Circle / Cathedral, there is a location named Setopong. This is where all the minibus taxis depart from, so go here if you need a cab out of town. It is, nevertheless, a highly crowded and lively area with a lot of people. It’s best to take a 4+1 cab to Setopong and ask the driver to drop you down near the taxis that go to the area you want to see.

By car

It is also feasible to rent a vehicle and explore the area. The Sun hotels in Maseru, as well as the airport, provide car rental services. If you rent a vehicle in South Africa (which is likely to be less expensive than renting in Lesotho), be sure you have authorization to drive it into Lesotho (the hire car insurance may not cover Lesotho).

But it’s nothing compared to getting up up and personal with the locals and talking with them!

The major attractions of Lesotho do not need a 4×4; for the typical tourist, just the route to Semonkong requires one. The road has been tarred from Maseru to Mokhotlong (through Leribe) and is now tarred all the way to Qacha’s Nek. Some side roads in the cities are unpaved, but you can get about in a saloon. If going into the highlands on unpaved roads (e.g. to the Kao diamond mine), a 4×4 is required. The same is true for Thaba Tseka and ascending or descending the Sani pass.

When driving at night, it’s not a good idea to stop at intersections or traffic signals since there’s a tiny possibility of anything bad occurring.

How To Travel To Lesotho

By plane Maseru is 18 kilometers from Moshoeshoe Airport. Daily flights between Maseru and Johannesburg are operated by South African Airways and Airlink, with fares averaging about ZAR1,400. Luggage is often misplaced, and there is no mechanism for reporting missing luggage. You should schedule a cab pickup ahead of time...

Visa & Passport Requirements for Lesotho

The following countries/territories do not need a visa to enter Lesotho: For up to 90 days: Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Cameroon, Dominica, Fiji, Gambia, Grenada, Guyana, Hong Kong SAR, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, North Korea, Papua New...

Destinations in Lesotho

Cities in Lesotho Maseru — the capitalHlotse (also known as Leribe) — regional market hub, with great craft shopping!MafetengMohale's HoekMokhotlongQacha's NekQuthing — fantastic rock art nearbyTeyateyaneng (often referred to as just 'TY') — the craft centre of LesothoThaba-Tseka Other destinations in Lesotho Afriski — In the winter (June-September), ski and mountain...

Things To See in Lesotho

Semonkong Falls — These falls near Semonkong plummet 200 meters in a single leap! In the summer, you may swim in the pond below, and in the winter, the pond freezes over, forming an ice cage around the falls.Katse Dam — an imposing 185-meter dam in a small valleyDinosaur footprints — There...

Things To Do in Lesotho

Pony-trekking, particularly at Malealea, Semonkong, or the Basotho Pony-Trekking Centre – whether you're a seasoned horseback rider or a total beginner, pony-trekking is a fantastic way to explore the Lesotho countryside! These planned excursions allow you to visit areas of the nation that you wouldn't be able to see...

Money & Shopping in Lesotho

Maseru has many Western-style stores where you may stock up on goods before going further in the nation. If you're looking for locally produced products and crafts, skip Maseru and go to TY or Hlotse, where the markets are much better and cheaper. Traditional Basotho hats (Mokorotlo), sticks (molamo), carpets,...

Internet & Communications in Lesotho

There are many internet cafes in Maseru, and although they are reasonably priced (about LSL0.20-0.50 per minute), they are at best sluggish. The mobile network is adequate in cities but deplorable in the countryside. Vodafone is the only British mobile phone network that has a roaming agreement. Lesotho has two...

Traditions & Customs in Lesotho

Before visiting Lesotho, try to learn a few Sesotho terms. The locals value a foreigner who has taken the time to learn their language. Always address an elder or someone of better social status as N'tate (male) or M'e (female). Hello is Lumela (pronounced due-mela). As a result, you'd say...

Culture Of Lesotho

Traditional musical instruments include the lekolulo, a kind of flute used by herding boys, the setolo-tolo, a mouth instrument played by men, and the stringed thomo performed by women. Lesotho's national anthem is "Lesotho Fate La Bo-ntata Rona," which translates as "Lesotho, Land of Our Forefathers." Lesotho's traditional form of dwelling...

History of Lesotho

The San people were the indigenous occupants of what is now Lesotho. Examples of their rock art may be seen across the area's mountains. In 1822, King Moshoeshoe I established the current Lesotho, then known as Basutoland, as a single state. Moshoeshoe, the son of Mokhachane, a Bakoteli lineage minor...

Stay Safe & Healthy in Lesotho

It is dangerous to stroll alone in Maseru. Friendly conversations with locals may evolve into disguised pleas for money, as they do pretty much everywhere else in the globe – adhere to your beliefs and only donate to recognized organizations. Driving past red lights at night is the standard — not...

Asia

Africa

South America

Europe

North America

Most Popular